top of page

KEXP New Home Benefit: Stevie Wonder Tribute

I recently babysat my five year old nephew and told him that I was gonna play some music as I washed the dishes. He looked at me very seriously, as seriously as a five year old can get, and very sternly said, "It better be good." I asked him how he would know if it's good or not, and he replied, "If I dance--it's good." Fearful of this little man's approval, I tentatively went to the computer, and played "For Once In My Life" by Stevie Wonder, very loudly over the speakers. My nephew's eyes were locked with mine, like two lions about to fight, determined to disapprove. However, within just a few seconds, his little legs began moving, and slowly his furled eyebrows raised up in accompaniment with a huge smile. Immediately, he was in a full-throttled five year old dance/seizure. Stevie Wonder's music is great. Even if if you don't want to like it, you have to. It's just that good. After the song finished, and repeated, he insisted to hear more, which ultimately turned into a marathon of Stevie songs. Then I told him how Stevie was blind and how he played drums and other instruments, and the fascination and appreciation snowballed, like it would for anyone discovering Stevie Wonder for the first time.

I would be lying if I said I remembered the first time I heard a Stevie Wonder song. The fact is, I grew up with his music. However, I do remember what CD my introduction to him came from: a Motown Greatest hits compilation that had "Superstition" and "You are the Sunshine of My Life" on it. Those two songs were played so much they began to skip. I began to find and discover more of Stevie's music as best I could as a kid in the early 90s, and fall in love with it. To me Michael Jackson was the king, and Stevie was the co king. I could go on about him, but you could google Stevie Wonder and find more interesting things about his life, his music, and his philanthropy than I could ever tell. The one thing I can say is that he has influenced and impacted my life and my love of soul music very much, and I know he has done the same for many, many others.

Which brings me to KEXP and the idea for the Stevie Wonder Tribute show. It's crazy what one idea can turn into.

Seattle radio station KEXP is the mothership of local music in Seattle. For any band or musician, it's the goal to get your music played on KEXP, or have any involvement with the station. There is a local band who I recently saw post that they had been saving this fancy bottle of whiskey for 5 years, waiting to open it only until they got played on KEXP (which happened). And it's likely the same for every other band and artist out of Seattle looking to make it. We set many goals, and getting airtime on KEXP is always one of them. The station has earned their reputation and respect through playing good, quality music over a long period of time. Not to mention, their support of local music, and refusal to give into the establishment. AKA, you will not hear Taylor Swift played on KEXP. Not that there's necessarily anything wrong with Taylor Swift?

I don't know if they will ever play my songs. And frankly, it's okay with me if they don't. Though it is a goal of mine, I won't let my worth and the value of my music be determined by a subjective few DJs (even if they are pretty cool DJs). All that said, I love the station. I like the music they play, and I like to support the rest that I don't (even the weird spacy stuff in unrecognizable languages, that's cool, but not my thing). I like what they represent. They are good people, and really good for the community. I think they represent Seattle really well. It's the only station where you can hear local, reggae, indie, soul, and everything in between, all in the same place.

Recently, they relocated to the Seattle Center (by Key Arena and the Space Needle), in a much bigger, nicer, and more expensive space. So they have been raising money like Donald Trump raises eyebrows, through concerts and benefits, as well as asking for donations on the radio. As a local musician, it would be an honor to help out the station, and often we look for ways to do so.

I am a singer/songwriter who plays soul music in the Seattle soul music scene (along with other genres), and had noticed that KEXP had recently been supporting a few more soul bands. More than I had noticed a couple years ago when I moved here from Seoul, South Korea. Being new to Seattle, I don't know the overall history of the station and what they had been playing, but it was nice to see a recent spike in support for soul music. They were recently playing local artists like Grace Love and the True Loves, Polyrhythmics, and Fly Moon Royalty. At the same time, the soul scene in Seattle has been surging with artists like Allen Stone reaching global audiences. With the trend, I thought the timing would be perfect to propose a benefit show for the station full of soul music. I had seen them do tribute shows to artists such as Bob Dylan and David Bowie, and thought of no one better to represent soul music than Stevie Wonder. I proposed the show to be on May 13th, Stevie Wonder's birthday, and to feature many of the city's best soul bands and singers. My purpose of the show was really three fold: 1. Make money for KEXP's New Home Benefit, 2. Honor Stevie Wonder--a music legend who has meant so much to me and to so many others, especially in the soul music community, and 3. To honor Seattle's soul music community, bringing together the best musicians, KEXP, and lovers of soul music under one roof for one truly unforgettable night of fantastic music.

And one email response later, the wheels were in motion. John Richards and KEXP loved the idea, and the rest is history. I worked with Andy Palmer of PBJ and the Nectar Lounge to assemble a crazy lineup of bands and vocalists, of which I'm honored have all decided to contribute and be a part of this. As well as Sharlese Metcalf of KEXP who helped make it possible, and others such as Larry Mizell Jr who has agreed to be the MC/DJ, and all of the great employees of the Nectar Lounge. KEXP is even making May 13th Soul Day on the radio, with on air soul performances and DJ's all day. It's pretty awesome what one idea has turned into. It seems like every time I turn the car radio to KEXP, they are running an on air promo for the show. I have to admit, it's nice and rewarding to hear those on air ads, and to see strangers post online about their excitement for the show. "It's Alive!" (said in Dr. Frankenstein voice. Yep, I'm a nerd).

I have definitely volunteered a lot of hours into planning and organizing this whole thing. My wife can attest to that as there have been many nights where she has asked me questions about taxes or upcoming vacation plans, only to be ignored by my inability to multitask as I was emailing bands about song choices or stage back lines. But it's more humbling to think of the hours all of the bands and vocalists have contributed through planning and rehearsing, as well as everyone at KEXP and the Nectar Lounge into advertising and carrying out the details. The show hasn't even happened yet. A Zombie apocalypse could break out, a Ride-The-Ducks tank could run into the Nectar Lounge, or any number of things could happen that would prevent this show to happen (knock on wood). But seeing so many musicians and members of the community work together for one special thing, has already made this whole thing a success and a major win. And I'm really proud of what everyone has accomplished together. Thank you all!

All good things come from simple ideas. Every person who starts a band, started with an idea. Every sold out show started with an idea. The start of a local radio station called KEXP came from an idea. Stevie Wonder's songs that have inspired millions, came from an idea and a belief in himself. It's gratifying to see how this one idea has turned into an event with the biggest local radio station, over 80 of Seattle's BEST musicians and vocalists, and countless hours of community dedication and support.

Stevie Wonder once said, "We all have ability. The difference is how we use it."

It's really great to be a part of a community that values music so much. And in this case, specifically soul music. I'm honored to be a small drop in the ocean of it all. And a huge thanks to everyone who has not only supported this show, but who supports local music and specifically soul music.

____________________________________________________________________________

Tickets are still available, though it's looking to sell out. Get them here: http://bit.ly/1QQnaAR

Oh--and my band gets to play in the show (duh--I'm not gonna plan this whole thing without a little bit of bias..c'mon now :) marking off two of my musical goals of the year (play at Nectar Lounge & play for KEXP--well, the goal specifically was to get on KEXP, but I'll call this close enough for now). My band gets to back up SassyBlack from TheeSatisfaction and Whitney Monge as well. Not to mention, we get to share the stage with a million amazing bands and singers.

AND I CAN'T EMPHASIZE ENOUGH HOW MUCH TALENT WILL BE PLAYING AT THIS SHOW! THERE'S A CRAZY COMBINATION OF ESTABLISHED VETS AND UP AND COMERS--CRAZY TALENT, ALL IN ONE ROOM!

"Music, at its essence, is what gives us memories. And the longer a song has existed in our lives, the more memories we have of it." Stevie Wonder

For more info on the show:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/events/450654661800849/471063833093265/

Nectar: http://nectarlounge.com/event.cfm?id=234456

KEXP: http://blog.kexp.org/kexp-new-home-benefit-stevie-wonder-tribute/

For more information on KEXP Soul Day: http://blog.kexp.org/kexp-presents-soul-day/

Please, check out these bands and sangers of soul, to find some of Seattle's best soul music--like their FB pages, support away! Come to the show! Thanks!

"You can't base your life on other people's expectations." Stevie Wonder

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Spencer Glenn

  • Wix Facebook page
  • youtube-square
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Wix Twitter page
bottom of page